SMTP Password saved as plain text?

Hi,

I am new to installing Discourse, and recently set it up on a Digital Ocean Droplet for us as our company forum/community page.

During the install, I noticed the SMTP password entry is not protected, and it is stored as plain text in the app.yml file.

That seems like a potential security issue. However, I am not a networking/security expert, so this may be just fine for a number of reasons. But in order to keep our IT Manager happy, it would help me if I can better understand why it’s done this way.

I know Discourse is widely used by many companies, so I suspect that this topic has been sufficiently addressed already.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
Jason

If someone your don’t trust has access to your app.yml file your smtp password is the least of your worries.

1 Like

How would you propose protecting it?

Hashes are one-way, they can’t be reversed back to the original data.

User passwords are hashed because they don’t need to be reversible. A password hash in the database is only consulted when the user tries to log in. The hash of the provided password is compared against the password hash stored against that user record.

It’s fairly common for things like SMTP passwords and API keys to be stored in plain text. They need to be transmitted in their original form, so hashing them would prevent their use. If the third party accepted a hash of the password there would be no benefit in hashing as a form of protection.

As Jay said above, if the physical integrity of your server is compromised and your app.yml is accessed you have significantly bigger problems to worry about than the need to reset an SMTP password.

One important caveat here- you shouldn’t be using the SMTP password anywhere else - but that’s not specific to Discourse. It’s good security practice for all systems and every account.

4 Likes