What are the differences between self-host and discourse business host?

Hi discourse team & community ,
I am a newbie with discourse , after some days researching about discourse , I plan to use this with my company’ s business.
Here are the list of my concerns & question about discourse :

1, What are the differences between self-host and discourse business host ? ( any limitation on features ? )

2, Can I upgrade from my self -host to discourse business host ? How much ? ( eg : transfer my current database )

Thanks ,

1 Like

Sorry, had to move it to #hosting

There are no operational differences in the core product. The real difference starts to occur when you look at extensibility. While you’re free to try out any plugins that you may like in the self hosted discourse version, You only get a default set of plugins preinstalled on Business Hosting.

I think discourse team offers onboarding to discourse from various platforms so migrating from self hosted discourse to Discourse’s business plan should be as simple as taking a backup and restoring on the new discourse installation. This however doesn’t account for any customization or third party plugins that you may be running.

I hope my answer was helpful.

8 Likes

I address this question at Discourse Self-Hosting FAQ — Literate Computing, LLC

5 Likes

Hello [itsbhanusharma]
“While you’re free to try out any plugins that you may like in the self hosted discourse version, You only get a default set of plugins preinstalled on Business Hosting.”
==> it means that self-host can use every office plugins that listed in all hosting plan ?

1 Like

Yes we can use any plugins on self hosted

3 Likes

Thanks for your replies ,

I realized that :

• self-host can use more plugins than all business host .
  • self -host can create unlimited staff users ( only 1/3 business host can do )
    So …

I wonder what are the real benefits of business hosting in compare with self-host ?
And why we should choose business hosting ?