Where to place ad script?

We’re not happy with any of the supported by Discourse ad networks, but we have found one that works perfectly on our blog and we would love to implement it on our forum as well, however it requires us to copy a code and paste it within our site’s HTML. Where exactly do we do that and would it work?

Just use theme components to do that

1 Like

Thanks, but I’m not a developer. My knowledge doesn’t go beyond setting up a Discord (which took me a week) and changing site settings.

Then you can start form here

Your aim is to create a theme component, add the ad <script> to the /head tab and activate the theme component in your main theme.

When your theme component will be activated you need to whitelist the URL of your script following this

4 Likes

Welcome to the club, we are in the same boat. But, a quick heads up, this won’t work with theme components, so the suggested answer won’t work. We’ve gone down this path, as have others (see our topics on this). With theme components, the ad script won’t show in the body where it supposed to show. The commentator suggesting using script in the /head may not be familiar with how ad scripts need to actually be implemented. We tried theme components and couldn’t do it because there are limitations of what you can do with theme components.

Ultimately, you will need a plugin to do what you need to do to show from other ad networks. Unfortunately, no plugin exists for this yet. The only hope is that Discuss will add a generic ad script in the Ads plugin to support third-party ad scripts that need to be injected into the area of the ad. Right now you can basically only use Google DFP, but if you use another ad provider, you are screwed and can’t monetize the forum. This is unfortunate because there are many other good ad networks (e.g. Adbutler, Openx etc.), and you shouldn’t be forced to use Google DFP to serve ads.