Why use Wordpress Blog if I have Discourse?

Newbie here. Not sure why I would need a Wordpress blogging engine if I’ve got Discourse. Can someone please help me understand the benefits of what Wordpress would give you? It seems to me like Discourse alone would suffice as a standalone blogging platform, but I think I might be missing something.

2 Likes

Different animals but I guess you could use Discourse for blogging? Would people find it intuitive though? And repetition of username might look a bit silly on Topic List view?

I’d say there are way more varied pre-baked themes available for Wordpress and and arguably Discourse is overkill for blogging with all of its community management and moderation functionality?

2 Likes

What kind of blogging are you hoping to do and who is your audience? For you it might make sense to keep it all on Discourse but I think the majority of people would use WordPress as the main site, not just a blogging platform, and integrate their Discourse forum by using Discourse for comments. It’s a way to merge a traditional website with a forum.

2 Likes

You can totally just use Discourse if you don’t need to leverage WP functionality.

Janitor do. They use a staff only tag to define what is published.

5 Likes

Main site is a Shopify store, the forum is where we crowd-source ideas for our products. Right now the majority of our traffic is on our forum. Blog content would serve a private and public audience.

Maybe you could use the built-in blogging capability of Shopify for the public stuff so it’s more visible and then Discourse for the private stuff? If you’re already using Shopify and Discourse, throwing WordPress in the mix seems unnecessary to me.

4 Likes

I’d like to drive traffic to the forum, I think it is a good sales incubator. I’m not seeing the case for Wordpress either, but it makes me wonder why Discourse uses it (unless their main site is run off Wordpress).