A data model to make perusing the database easier

Ah! Gotcha! Any ideas on what this could look like? We are always looking for ways to make it easier here :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Of course! Something like the Northwind (MS Access fame!) data model would be brilliant. There may even be a tool that’ll generate one by investigating the Postgres schema

2 Likes

Can you share that like you’re talking to a noob? Like:

• What would adding this help solve?
  • How would you expect to see this if it is added? How would it look?

I am basically taking your suggestion and asking for more details (as much as you can give :wink: ) so we can improve the experience for the next Data Architect that comes around. I have no background in data, so your detailed suggestion will be helpful :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Haha Osioke,

A very fair shout! Touché…

So most folk who work with databases (not just data architects! Developers too!) find it very helpful to have some sort of a data model that shows them how the various tables are connected to each other.

For example, let’s take my query ;), I needed several pieces of information about a user - I required information about a user who:

• was in (or not in) a particular group
  • had solved topic
  • within a certain date range

To answer the above, I need the users table, the user_actions table, and the groups table. A data model would have shown me that I can link a user to a user action via id/user_id, and to link a user to a group via their primary_group_id/id visually.

It helps to visualise not only what data is available, but how to join it, especially if there are some long-winded queries at play.

Yes you could click through every single table in the data explorer to figure out what fields are available and write them down so that you don’t forget, but having a data model may be a bit more humane for some of us :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Ah! Gotcha again! :sweat_smile: