Auto avatars from nice avatar collection?

I am new to discourse and just started a tiny community called frele. From other forum software, I do know an automatic avatar feature.
Means, new users, who do not add a profile pic, will receive a random nice avatar picture from a default collection (not only a boring one with a letter on it).
Is there a plugin or another way setting this up in discourse?
Thanks

1 Like

I think a clever way to solve that might be a font for the boring avatar letter that was some kind of avatar. The first trick is finding out making an avatar font.

But last I looked carefully there was either a fixed set of avatars that all users had to use (did you see that option?) or users could use their own avatar.

4 Likes

@pfaffman thanks for the helpful answer. Just found the option. So there is only default avatar or loading up own avatar and having the letter avatar as standard?

1 Like

@georg There is a site setting you could select called selectable_avatars_enabled which let’s you predefine a list of avatars that users can select from.

If you enable this, users will automatically be assigned a random avatar:

More information about that feature here:

4 Likes

This is a nifty idea. There are lots of fonts out there when you search “font with faces.”

3 Likes

“Font with faces”!!! I searched for “avatar font” and found an amusing history of the font selection for the movie “Avatar.” That’s when I gave up. :slight_smile:

I haven’t looked at the code enough to know if this is a good project for a novice or whether you need to go deep into Rails to do it; I’m afraid it’s the latter.

3 Likes

Thank you all! So nice. Think I’ll go with selectable avatars.

I think we’d need to find out where the letter-avatars are created. You’d have to have the font it uses selectable in the admin, and a way to rebake them.

Edit: Found it, lib/letter_avatar.rb