Automatically delete users flagged by system?

Hi!

Every day, I have a dozen spam accounts flagged as “This new user entered profile information without reading any topics or posts”.

In two years, we had 0 false positives.

So, I’m thinking that we could automatically delete these accounts if they are flagged for this specific reason.

Optionally, an automatic email could be sent to the recipient prior to the deletion, mentioning that the account was automatically deleted, but that the administrator can be reached out by email through the forum.

I took a look at Discourse Automation but it doesn’t allow that out of the box.

Would it be possible to code a plugin using discourse automation methods, or should it be coded from scratch?

Or is there an easier way to prevent this endless spam from going to our review list?

4 Likes

So, I’m giving a try to this, I’ll go with the webhooks that I’ve never used before.
I’ve started using Use Discourse webhooks with PHP as a template and it properly returns data to Discourse.

But I need to create reviewable spam items manually (like “user typed too fast” or “filled in their profile without reading any post”). Any idea how to do that?

I got it to work.

Creating a user with Insomnia, filling its profile with an Akismet trigger, which triggers a Review.
A few checks are done and the user is automatically deleted.

The Review properties for the script to trigger a user deletion are:

• Type: ReviewableAkismetUser, ReviewableUser or ReviewableQueuedPost
  • Score > 0

I don’t want to automatically delete users flagged by other users than @system.

Here’s the PHP script I use:

<?php

// Immediately verify the authenticity of the request.
if (array_key_exists('HTTP_X_DISCOURSE_EVENT_SIGNATURE', $_SERVER)) {
    $discourse_payload_raw = file_get_contents('php://input');
    $discourse_payload_sha256 = substr($_SERVER['HTTP_X_DISCOURSE_EVENT_SIGNATURE'], 7);