Broke my installation with a failed upgrade - how can I recover?

TLDR: I clicked the update button in my Discourse admin panel, and the update failed. I decided to reboot the whole thing and try the update process again. Unfortunately my Discourse admin panel doesn’t come up. I’d like to get things working again.

Supporting info: This is in a DigitalOcean VM that serves a WordPress site. I set it up years ago and forgot many details, but by some magic Nginx looks at the requested URL and decides whether to activate WP for the main content or Discourse for the conversations. The WP side still works.

Given the naive and casual approach suggested in my intro, it will be no surprise that I can’t pinpoint the exact nature of the installation error that landed me in this sad state. I don’t even know where to find the log files that might contain clues about getting the upgrade process back on track.

Any hints would be most welcome. I am not experienced in web admin lore, but I am comfortable with the command line on Debian-based systems. The software just mentioned is all running on Ubuntu 20.04.6 LTS, and I have SSH access to the relevant platform. Thanks!

hi, try to rebuild the container

1 Like

You can try

cd /var/discourse
./launcher rebuild app

That might do the trick. If not, it’ll likely be hard to guess.

2 Likes

Thanks a lot for your replies. I will follow Jay’s suggestion and report back. (But it may be several hours before I do. First I have to make pizza and feed it to my guests. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Unfortunately my DigitalOcean VM appears to be too small. If I say du -sh after a fresh login, it says my assigned disk /dev/vda1 has about 7 GiB free. After I give the launcher rebuild app command, a bunch of downloading and unpacking happens and then the script aborts, saying that it sees only 3.3G available and that it refuses to continue unless there is 5G or more to use.