Can snapshots be used when upgrading the host OS?

Apologies if this has been asked, I looked around but didn’t see the exact scenario I’m planning (or I missed it, but I want to make sure I get it right since i’ve never done it before).

I’m still on 18 (which is where I started at; I’ve never upgraded linux OS before just the security updates) so sometime soon I’m going to go up to 22. Everything I’ve read here suggests that migrating to a new install is much smarter than upgrading your existing one because there’s potentially a multitude of random issues that may or may not occur, but it’s not worth the risk because if they do occur then it’s just a pointless hassle.

I did read this guide Move your Discourse Instance to a Different Server but it’s referring to moving from some server to DigitalOcean (or vice versa) which makes the Snapshot not applicable, whereas I’m planning to move from an existing DigitalOcean Droplet to a new one (which I’ve seen multiple references to working fine and being ideal to an upgrade).

So my question for a DO>DO transfer is can I just spin down my droplet, take a snapshot, start a new Droplet on the updated Ubuntu I want, load in the snapshot, and voila (adjust the DNS record for the domain etc)? Basically sidestepping the “completely reinstall Discourse” that the guide details. It’s my understanding of snapshots that they’re supposed to be an identical 1:1 of the install on the Droplet vs. the backup which is specifically of your Discourse setup which requires an entire install to actually utilize this. Am I understanding this correctly? Any downside to this other than longer downtime?

tl;dr: can I just take a snapshot, make new upgraded droplet, load snapshot and be done?

A DO snapshot includes the OS version. Restoring a snapshot would roll back the operating system.

Your practical options are to move a backup, or rsync /var/discourse and manually reinstall docker.

2 Likes