Starting Over with Old Database

Hi there -

I’ve been running Discourse on DigitalOcean for the past two years. Just this week I tried to upgrade and every time I tried to do it from the control panel it would fail.

I tried SSH’ing in and doing it manually, but for some reason DO’s setup of Discourse–at least at the time I originally set it up–didn’t have the var/discourse directory. Regardless, now I’m getting 502 and I can’t get my application to start back up again. Running the logs app from the /docker directory I get Could not find activesupport-4.2.8 in any of the sources

What I would love to do is to start completely over - perhaps by installing with whatever new paradigm DO/Discourse has for 2017 BUT I want to be able to keep my old database - my years of posts, comments, etc.

Is there any resource or suggestion anyone would have about how to go about doing this? I would super appreciate it as I have a pretty big active community that is wondering what happened!

Thank you

2 Likes

Start a new droplet on Digital Ocean, install Discourse using the official guide and after the first login upload your last backup and restore.

3 Likes

Thanks! Sounds super obvious - but two questions:

• Is this better than the one-click install app option on DO? What’s the difference?
  • How do I go about downloading my last backup? What is the location of all the important info?

In DO, my only options are to Create Droplet from a Backup or Restore Droplet from a Backup, nothing about downloading - but I’m sure I can do it manually if I know the essential parts.

The one-click install is out of date (2 major versions if I’m not mistaken) and there have been a number of support requests recently that appeared to be related to the DO install.