Contributor Interviews – Angus

Every week, we’ll be posting an interview with one of our many beloved contributors here on Meta. Find them all in user-interviews. This week:

Angus McLeod @angus

Tell us a bit about yourself

Name: Angus McLeod.

Until a few months ago I was the Head of Technology at Knotel, a co-working space business in New York. I quit that to focus on building / starting a platform to provide civic and legal services online in any jurisdiction. Part of that involves building plugins for Discourse. It also involves a fair amount of research and thinking. I’m interested in any interesting ideas at the intersection of technology, public services and law. Previously, I studied law in Australia, the US and Singapore and worked for 2 years as a lawyer, before moving to New York and stumbling into a job at a little tech startup (there’s an interesting story there actually involving Craigslist, the Nuyorican Poet’s Cafe and transcranial stimulation) .

When I’m not working, I hike (I recently hiked around Yellowstone), I go to the theatre (I used to do some amateur acting), I go dancing and I’ve always read a lot. I’m currently reading Clarice Lispector and some short stories by Balzac.

How did you first find out about Discourse?

A co-worker told me about it in the context of discussing interesting open source projects.

What are you using Discourse for?

Partly as the core of the civc/legal services platform I mentioned, partly as a study of how and why people contribute to open source projects (more on that below) and partly as an example of best practices for my own development as a developer.

How did you get so involved in the Meta community?

By building a number of plugins, then ‘releasing’ them on meta.

What compels you to contribute to Discourse?

There are a few things at work here:

1. I need Discourse for my own project, so contributing to Discourse (core or plugins) is contributing to my own work.