Deleting permissions | Create new Topic

Hi, everyone.

My name is Andres Gomez, and I work on the SmartThings Developer Support team, so I am also an admin in the SmartThings Community. There is a valuable long-term user (more than 7 years) here in our Community that has been running into an issue lately. This user had an accident a long time ago, and as a result, he is now in a wheelchair with poor mobility in his hands. Although this accident happened before his arrival to our Community, in the last few weeks (probably after some update in the forum) he started to delete threads by mistake when trying to select posts from an already existing thread, with the intention of forking that thread. This means, an ongoing thread starts growing and a different started to be discussed in that thread, therefore, he tries to fork those comments into a new thread but he accidentally deletes that thread. We try updating his user level, but the only one with no deleting permissions is the lowest level, and since he is an active and valued member of our Community, we don’t want him to lose all his privileges. Is there any workaround to this issue? Is there a chance to move the Delete Topic button from the Select Posts... button? Is there a chance to add a confirmation step to the deleting topic flow?

2 Likes

I think you can hide it with CSS and even make a user-selectable theme just for that user.

1 Like

Hello and welcome @AndresGomez :slight_smile:

I think your user may have been recently made into a Category Moderator to acquire the ability to delete a topic (only Category Moderators, Moderators, and Admin currently have the delete permission for content that’s not their own).