Email Hostname Certificate Mismatch Causing sidekiq Queue Overload, Severe Site Instability

I’ve been self-hosting Discourse for many years, and had several instances happily configured and running on a fairly beefy machine.

Today I noticed that one of my forums had gone down. The initial culprit looked to be lack of disk space, which I fixed. I then restarted the Discourse instance.

However, it’s continued to go down regularly since then. Each time I boot it, I immediately see sidekiq go crazy and a huge number of failed email jobs, which are also causing redis to store a massive amount of state, which I think was the actual cause of the disk space problem. (I’m about to do a flush next time I can bring the machine up, since if I don’t I’ll quickly be out of space on this machine and won’t be even able to start Discourse to flush it. But the flush doesn’t seem to reduce redis disk usage much.)

The error message indicates something regarding a certificate name mismatch, which I find a bit surprising since the mail server I’m using is internal and doesn’t require TLS or authentication. I was able to verify on one of my other instances (using the same email configuration) that email had stopped working. All I can see in the main production logs is a 422 error, but when I send something like a password reset I see a similar error in the sidekiq logs:

Jobs::HandledExceptionWrapper: Wrapped OpenSSL::SSL::SSLError: SSL_connect returned=1 errno=0 state=error: certificate verify failed (Hostname mismatch)

I have been able to verify that I can send email via the command line, so this does not seem to be a problem with the email server itself, just something broken with the Discourse configuration.

Here’s the original mail configuration that was working until recently:

DISCOURSE_SMTP_ADDRESS: outbound-relays.techservices.illinois.edu
DISCOURSE_SMTP_PORT: 25
DISCOURSE_SMTP_ENABLE_START_TLS: false