Extend Existing Controller?

Hey all, I hope I’m posting this in the right place. I’m trying to develop a plugin for my new Discourse website.

I forked the example repo here, got a Plugin Outlet working, then hit a wall and started to feel pretty lost and confused. I’m recently starting to get the hang of MVC PHP frameworks like Laravel, but I am VERY new to JS frameworks. I’ve never touched Ruby, Rails, or Ember before.

The Problem

My website is for an HOA community. What I’m trying to do is collect and save a few extra fields of data per user:

• legal_name (string)
  • is_owner (bool)
  • is_resident (bool)
  • building (string) - representing their building number
  • unit (string) - representing their unit number
  • … and a few other internal variables, like whether a moderator has confirmed them.

I want to make these fields required for user signup. That means modifying the user signup form. I hooked into the create-account-after-password outlet and got some extra fields to display, but obviously this doesn’t make it functional.

I think I need to extend the controller in app/assets/javascripts/discourse/app/controllers/create-account.js, not only to catch the new form values when submitted but even for something as (seemingly) basic as using the site name this.siteSettings.title in a client.en.yml translation field! (Right now the extra fields in my signup form are headed, “What’s your connection to [missing %{title} value]?” Which is obviously not good.)

The more I tried to look for answers, the more questions I had and the bigger they became. Different guides I tried to follow were apparently written for different versions of Discourse. The example plugin repo has things I don’t understand. What’s the difference between a clientside route and a serverside route? What’s the difference between a plugin and a module? I’m so lost.

If anybody could offer some help, I will be very grateful. Thank you in advance.

2 Likes