Focus the editor when title is pre-filled

I’ve got a url similar to this:

https://forum.example.com/new-message?groupname=moderators&title=Help+me+with+some+task+please

That I link to on my site, to bring users to the forum to ask a question. I use various values for title to pre-fill the title with whatever topic they’re wondering about, and I would like the editor to be the focus.

I was looking to see how to modify this, and found the composer.js file with the focusTarget definition, which would be pretty easy to modify to support this behavior if the title were passed in.

The problem I’m finding is that I can’t see where focusTarget is actually called. I’ve been programming for many years, but new to Ember, and I’ve done relatively little javascript programming.

Any tips on how to approach this would be greatly appreciated (an rtfm with a pointer to a reasonable manual would be appreciated even)

Cheers

I think this is what you’re looking for:

Every time the focusTarget value changes, this setFocus function is called.

Right, that code is what makes it work. What I’m not sure about is what code I need to modify in order for this method to get the title, so I can appropriately set the focus to editor there…

I think you can do something like that. This should work.

import putCursorAtEnd from "discourse/lib/put-cursor-at-end";

api.onAppEvent("composer:open", ({ model }) => {
  if (model.title !== "") {
    scheduleOnce("afterRender", () => {
      putCursorAtEnd(document.querySelector("textarea.d-editor-input"));
    });
  }
});
1 Like

I’ve almost got this working – when the code is executing, I’m getting an error that scheduleOnce is not defined – I tried api.scheduleOnce, but it looks like scheduleOnce is an ember thing. I tried adding this import to my component, but got an imports only allowed at top level error.
import { scheduleOnce } from "@ember/runloop";