Hamburger toggle

Hello, I’m new to Discourse and hope this is a helpful observation- the hamburger menu never changes to a ‘close’ ui so I’ve found myself clicking it thinking I’m about to reveal more stuff, but it closes unexpected. It was already open. I’ve got a few lines of css that I plan on adding as a topic in the ‘theme component’ category when I have more access. Luckily the codebase has proper classes so we can hook onto those based on the sidebar showing or not showing.

discourse-hamburger-toggle

.btn-sidebar-toggle::before {
    transition:.2s ease-out all;
    opacity:0;
    content: "+";
    font-size: 32px;
    transform: rotate(0deg);
    position:absolute; left:12px;
}

.btn-sidebar-toggle  svg {
    transition:.2s ease-out all
}

body.has-sidebar-page .btn-sidebar-toggle::before {
    opacity:1;
    transform: rotate(45deg);
}

body.has-sidebar-page .btn-sidebar-toggle svg {
    opacity:0
}
4 Likes

Thank you for this! I would also suggest that the X Close button be moved to inside the Menu itself, at the very top. (In that position I would also add “Close Menu” text to the button, and perhaps use a left-pointing arrow instead of the X.)

← Close Menu or << Close Menu

4 Likes

I think most people use Discourse with the sidebar always enabled (I’d be curious to see stats on various forums). Having a large X that encourages, sort of speaking, of closing a part of the layout that is basically permanent for many users would look a bit weird to me. :thinking:

3 Likes

I agree that having the little-used hamburger-to-close icon taking up the most valuable upper left easy target space on the window is non-optimal.

Here’s what cloudflare has at the bottom of their sidebar:

Seems like someone who knew a bit more than I about CSS (or maybe the DOM?) could make a theme component pretty quickly, but probably the thing is a PR that fixes the template.

It could even be the top item in the sidebar. . .

2 Likes