Help with auto-close topic?

Hi there - I’m after a bit of advice about the best way to set up an automated step.

We are using a discourse platform as an LMS. Our first cohort will close next week, and I would like to automate this as I won’t be at work.

I would essentially like to hide the categories from participants, without losing topics or comments within - OR - automatically remove all participants from the platform.
We would like to be able to refer back to these categories as a team, so I want to ensure all comments and topics stay available to us.

Is the auto-close feature the best way to go about this? Is there a more sophisticated approach?
When a topic is closed, what will my participants see?

Thanks for any advice. I’m just a school teacher and am learning a lot about everything!

1 Like

No, close topics is not the right way.

You should change the categories permissions to make them private for staff only, see How to use category security settings to create private categories

1 Like

Ok - thanks - is it possible to automate this though? That’s my primary goal here - I won’t be at work next week but need to remove all participants on Tuesday night.

1 Like

Just to add - what I think I’m after is the topic timer, but for categories.

I think that you’d need either a plugin or to do it via the API (with something that would make the API calls at the appropriate time).

2 Likes

Not sure if this is what your looking for. But there is a plugin that hides responses to the Topic from all except Topic creator and possibly a group.

Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately that sounds a bit beyond my skillset! All good, I guess I am logging on on Tuesday after all…!

Cheers @Heliosurge - I’ll have a bit of a look for that.

1 Like

Your welcome. Had sometime to do a keyword search.

Here is a link to the plugin.

2 Likes

Thanks so much - really appreciate you finding it (I had a go, but was coming up short!)