How can I customize the registration form?

I am relatively new to Discourse and am looking into the registration proces. I would like for new members to register also their first and last name, next to the default user name, e-mail address and password fields. The default registration form only asks for an optional name. Is it possible to change the label name to first name and make this a mandatory field?

Also I have added a new user field ‘last name’ to the registration form. The user field is displayed in the bottom of the form. Is is possible to change the order of the fields? I hope these screenshots give some insight to what I mean.

We are self hosting our Discourse application. It would be great if someone can get me on my way.

At least that part is easy: there is a site setting called full name required

You can probably do that in CSS but internally it would still be full name.

I don’t think that is possible without a plugin.

Thanks @tophee. I found the full name required setting.

Do you know if there is a plugin available?

We are looking into connecting Discourse to our CRM, that’s why I want this basic information. I am just wondering what would be the best way to customize the registration form?

Maybe use SSO and have the CRM pass the info to Discourse? That way you’d obviate the need to have users enter any information into Discourse.

1 Like

Looking forward to hearing how this develops,

I would like to add more unique user info in the sign up process and then display this new info on user profiles. Also thinking about adding modifications to profile design

What makes his case more complicated is that they want separate first and last name fields rather than the built-in name field.

For just adding custom fields it’s pretty flexible already, unless the order that the stock fields are presented is really, really important to you.

2 Likes