How can I host more than 1 Discourse forum on 1 VPS?

Hello! I as wondering if I can host more than one Discourse on 1 VPS. Since i’m a beginner, can I please have clear, step-by-step instructions? Thanks.

Yes you can!

However, this is an advanced topic you will need to know these basic concepts:

• What is a reverse proxy?
  • What reverse proxy should I use?
  • How do I configure a virtual host on a reverse proxy?
  • How do I configure a virtual host as a reverse proxy to my web app?
  • How do I configure a web app to work with a reverse proxy?
  • How do I set up SSL when using a reverse proxy.

@Aiden12114, are you familiar with these concepts?

If so, you are good to go, for sure!

5 Likes

Sadly, I have no idea what any of that means :rofl:

You have two options:

• Multisite - more complicated Multisite configuration with Docker
  • Multiple containers - slightly complicated (requires a reverse proxy etc as mentioned above), more expensive.
    Follow the instructions for setting up Discourse without the ./discourse-setup script (cp samples/standalone.yml containers/app2.yml) and rename the volumes to something other than standalone.
2 Likes

I think it is important to share a few technical facts to anyone interested or making a decision about this:

• A single Discourse container with multiple “sites” per container, or
  • Multiple containers for each Discourse “site”.

If you use the “single container, multisite” approach, and you have 5 Discourse sites up and running (or even 10), when you rebuild your container, or have a problem with the container for any reason, you will have 5 (or 10) Discourse sites failing (or down) at the same time. This is because you have one container supporting all the “sites”.