How hard is to manage a Discourse community for non techies?

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie to discourse looking for some quick inputs from the wonderful people of this community.

Basically, I am someone who has been only using shared hosting ( cpanel, phpmyadmin and all that stuff ) all my life. I have nearly zero experience working with unmanaged cloud servers.

I am also a windows user since I owned a PC and have never used anything complex like Linux, UBUNTU or anything.

So, I recently planned to launch a discourse community for one of my projects. I also switched to Linux at my desktop and removed windows. I am not using the command line much though since its desktop environment solves most of the purpose for me.

My question is, after following online guides, I can make an install easily but How hard it is to manage discourse after installation especially for non-techies? Do I need to learn the command line or anything because not all the time copied commands will do the job for me?

Or once install is done, things can be managed easily from backend admin access?

P.S. I am a Digital Marketer with relatively good experience using WordPress, so I think I can learn Linux and related stuff relatively a little easier than many but I am unsure it will be any fruitful or not.

If anyone can point me to good resources ( preferably video courses ) to learn related stuff to discourse, ubuntu and Linux I will appreciate it.

2 Likes

Quite simple, depending on what you need.
Basically, you only need to use the command line to install Discourse and, sometimes, to rebuild the application. Rebuilding the application is needed when changing configuration, installing plugins and from time to time, required for some updates.

If you didn’t read it yet, the 30 min install guide is a good start: https://github.com/discourse/discourse/blob/master/docs/INSTALL-cloud.md

6 Likes