Without any coding knowledge, is it possible to install and maintain Discourse?

At the moment, I cannot afford Discourse’s hosting fees, so initially, I’d like to do an installation elsewhere. I have no real coding skills; however, I can follow instructions. Does this sound like a possibility or am I being unrealistic?

Bonus question: Which hosting site is an affordable/wise alternative to Discourse?

I’m starting at the bottom rung in terms of understanding cloud servers, shared servers, etc.

BTW, this is my first post and I’m overwhelmed by all the information. Thank you for your kind responses.

2 Likes

Yes, do it.
I don’t know much about coding either and I have no real clue what docker is and how this whole thing works, but I was able to install Discourse without struggling too much. That said, I have installed other software before, like Wordpress, and I have some experience with configuring domain names, have some understanding of how emails find their destination etc. But it’s all learning by doing - and in that sense, doing comes first. As for the learning part: this forum and the rest of the internet are a great resource and you can find answers to any question that might come up during the process.

If you’re just playing around, you can hardly break anything. If something goes irreversibly wrong, worst case is you have to delete everything and start over. When you start making things accessible to others though, it’s time to make sure that you have security measures in place and know a little bit more about what you’re doing. But you’ll get there.

9 Likes

I suggest the first thing to do is change your username.

Which would be more useful to get your mind in a state ready to learn? A mindset of ‘no skills’ or ‘avid learner’ ?

One of the best lessons I was ever taught was.

“Anything worth doing, is worth doing poorly, until you learn to do it well” ~ Zig Ziglar

If you desire to be skilled in coding, you will become skilled in coding.