How to install Discourse in the AWS EC2 Instances(Ubuntu Server LTS)?

I’m editing a guide of install Discourse in the AWS EC2 Instances(Ubuntu Server LTS) in Chinese Simplified. I’m also a newbie of Rails, Linux shell and Web Development. This is the part I have already edited.
Is there are any errors? Thanks.

I especially don’t know want should I do after the part of Edit Discourse Configuration and before Register New Account and Become Admin.

After Edit Discourse Configuration, I can’t visit the hostname of Discourse. What should I do?

EC2 servers aren’t available externally by default, have you configured access?

I checked EC2 support documentation, but I still don’t know how to do that.

If you can SSH to the instance but cannot reach the web site, that suggests your security group is not permitting the necessary ports (80/443) or that nothing is listening on those ports.

Expand on this part.

• What are you doing?
  • What do you expect to happen?
  • What actually happens?
3 Likes

So you mean I need to change it like this?

The default SG allows all ports. If you are using a custom one, then you will have to permit them like that link shows.

3 Likes

As said above AWS behaves differently to other hosts.

DigitalOcean servers are available over the Internet by default.

AWS servers sit in private networks and aren’t available publicly by default.

You’ve not said anything in the above which suggests you’ve published your EC2 instance or that the FQDN is pointed to the external IP.

2 Likes

So after:

, what do I need to do?

I haven’t changed any Ssettings of EC2 Security Groups.

So how are you expecting traffic on ports 80 or 443 to reach your server?

Access to EC2 instances is denied by default.

1 Like

Thanks a lot. But because of my poor English reading comprehension and writing ability(I’m a 16 years old Chinese student), I don’t know which post were you reply.