Discourse setup on aws ec2 doesn't work with default IPv4 DNS

Hi discourse community,

I am new to discourse and just testing the setup of discourse on an AWS ec2 instance following discourse/INSTALL-cloud.md at master · discourse/discourse · GitHub. However, I wasn’t able to spin it up. Here is problem I am having:

Before purchasing all the resources, I wanted to try out the website without a domain name, so I used Public IPv4 DNS of that instance as the hostname of discourse and to access the site, e.g. https://ec2_ip_address.us-west-1.compute.amazonaws.com/.
I opened up the port 80, 443 on the instance via the security group, and verified these ports are accessible from public network (tested with python simple server).
But I get “This site can’t be reached” in browser after starting the discourse server with ./discourse-setup or ./launcher rebuild app.

I tried the discourse doctor, and it returns

Discourse version at ec2-ip_address.us-west-1.compute.amazonaws.com: NOT FOUND
Discourse version at localhost NOT FOUND

I am not 100% sure if email setup is working, but I assume site accessibility is a separate problem with email.

Can anyone point me what is missing or how can I debug this issue?

thanks a lot!

3 Likes

Welcome to the Meta Discourse Community :slightly_smiling_face:

It may be unrelated, but I’m noticing an inconsistency here:

2 Likes

Hi Jonathan,

Thanks for checking. I omitted the ip address here, the url should be correct.

3 Likes

The Not found status on your hostname is most probably due to the site not being live. You’ll have to share more from your discourse-doctor log.

Does the rebuild/bootstrap complete successfully?

If the EC2 instance is underpowered then there is a chance that discourse would take some time (~3-5 mins in some cases)