How to setup discourse on my own home server

Hi,
I want to setup discourse on my own home server using a static IP.

I am new to Linux and not a sysadmin so would like paint by numbers, step by step advice. So please don’t assume I have the knowledge about Linux that you might have.

1. My Server is hosted at home using a Static IP address (this comes standard with Australian ISP’s) and do not wish to use dyndns or anything else that is usually required when using a dynamic IP. Cant find anything about how to do this as the rest of the world’s ISP’s do not seem to offer static ip as free inclusions with their service.
  2. I have installed Ubuntu Server 20.04 and docker was included as part of the setup process.
  3. I have been told by Jeff Atwood that this tutorial should work fine for what I need but does not look very straight forward to me discourse/INSTALL-cloud.md at main · discourse/discourse · GitHub

Would appreciate any help I can get with this as this is something I am trying to get up for a local community organisation who does not want their information hosted in the cloud. So for that reason something like Digital Ocean or similar hosting service is definitely out, they are quite adamant that they want a home server installation.

1 Like

You can host your solution in the cloud whilst preserving complete privacy. Hence the “Private” in VPS.

Https protocol takes care of obfuscation of communication and this setting:

Prevents anyone other than someone authorised reading any content.

As a site you own your own data.

So I highly recommend you reconsider your proposed architecture.

1 Like

This is not a solution my community organisation wants as it does not stop frivolous warrants to snoop on my organizations content.

I think it is important to note that Australia has the worst internet privacy and civil liberties laws in the first world.