Attempting to install Discourse on private Apache Server

Hello Discourse community,

I am a part of a game development team, and we’ve been looking for a better, more modern forum platform to our current phpBB forums. And I believe Discourse is it!

Unfortunately, our Webhost does not allow for root access, meaning we can’t install Discourse to it (at least, that’s what I’ve read and our lead site admin tells me). Fortunately, I do have an Ubuntu box that I want to turn into an Apache Server (the first time I’ve ever tried to set one up), and I would like to host Discourse on it. We’re a small enough team, that I don’t think there will be a traffic issue.

Discourse has been proving very difficult to set up (as per the above, I’m new to installing an Apache Server in general). All the instructions I can find are in regard to installing Discourse on DigitalOcean. I’ve been trying to follow all the steps in this particular article, but have run into several problems:

1. I can’t get SMTP to send an email. Of course, this is a problem related to setting up SMTP (and again, something I’m completely new to).
  2. As mentioned above, I’d like to host Discourse on my personal server, as opposed to Cloud hosting like DigitalOcean. So I haven’t been able to set up Droplet.

I imagine #2 is my main issue as to why I haven’t been able to get Discourse to show on my server (I got the successful Apache page to show, as well as PHP). Is it even possible to host Discourse on a personal server? The only instructions seem to be in regard to hosting on DigitalOcean.

Can anyone here help a newbie out? Keep in mind I do have a basic understanding of Linux (particularly Ubuntu distros).

1 Like

When I installed Discourse on a “personal” server, I used the Docker image and it worked. Installing Apache / PHP is not the way to go for the standard Docker install.

3 Likes