How to troubleshoot database errors in an outdated plugin?

I’m new to Discourse plugin development, and to start off I’m trying to update this quiz plugin to work with the latest version of Discourse.

If it’s not too much trouble, I could use some help understanding how to troubleshoot this error that comes up whenever I try to make or view a topic while the plugin is enabled:

Job exception: PG::UndefinedTable: ERROR:  relation "quizzes" does not exist
LINE 9:  WHERE a.attrelid = '"quizzes"'::regclass
                            ^

Backtrace

rack-mini-profiler-3.3.0/lib/patches/db/pg.rb:110:in `exec'
rack-mini-profiler-3.3.0/lib/patches/db/pg.rb:110:in `async_exec'
activerecord-7.0.8/lib/active_record/connection_adapters/postgresql/database_statements.rb:19:in `block (2 levels) in query'
activesupport-7.0.8/lib/active_support/concurrency/share_lock.rb:187:in `yield_shares'
activesupport-7.0.8/lib/active_support/dependencies/interlock.rb:41:in `permit_concurrent_loads'
activerecord-7.0.8/lib/active_record/connection_adapters/postgresql/database_statements.rb:18:in `block in query'
activesupport-7.0.8/lib/active_support/concurrency/load_interlock_aware_monitor.rb:25:in `handle_interrupt'
activesupport-7.0.8/lib/active_support/concurrency/load_interlock_aware_monitor.rb:25:in `block in synchronize'
activesupport-7.0.8/lib/active_support/concurrency/load_interlock_aware_monitor.rb:21:in `handle_interrupt'
activesupport-7.0.8/lib/active_support/concurrency/load_interlock_aware_monitor.rb:21:in `synchronize'

Are there any common problems I should look for that might be why the relation doesn’t exist? Would those problems typically be found in in /db?

In case it’s relevant: I’m using the Docker dev environment on Linux as described in this guide and you can see what I’ve done so far here.

Looks like you haven’t run migrations

You need an extra environment variable to run them for plugins, see:

2 Likes