Importing Votes: Is it Possible to Use a PostgreSQL Command or other to Set Vote Counts on Specific Topics?"

Hello, I’m in the process of migrating from AnswerHub to Discourse. However, since I don’t have access to the AnswerHub database, I’ve scraped the entire website to gather the Ideas and their respective vote counts.

How can I override the vote count for a specific question in Discourse? For instance, the question “make a new recipe with oranges” has 42 votes on my AnswerHub. I have imported the question, but I would like to set the vote count to 42 instead of it defaulting to 0. This way, users can see the accurate number of votes for each question.

Is there a way to execute a PostgreSQL command to manually set the vote count?
Do I need to create 100+ fake users to simulate the vote count for each question? I hope not, as that’s not an ideal solution :stuck_out_tongue:

Thank you in advance for your help.

:slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Luicid!

:warning: I’m no expert and I’ve never used this plugin :upside_down_face:

This is a great question and I’m afraid I can’t answer precisely but maybe I can give some pointers as you seem to know a bit about coding (since you’re migrating from scratch)

The voting plugin uses 2 tables:

discourse_voting_topic_vote_count

Field Name Type Constraints
id serial primary key
topic_id integer foreign key (references topics), can be null
votes_count integer can be null
created_at timestamp
updated_at timestamp

discourse_voting_votes

Field Name Type Constraints
id serial primary key
topic_id integer foreign key (references topics), can be null
user_id integer foreign key (references users), can be null
archive boolean can be null, default false
created_at timestamp
updated_at timestamp

You may be interested in the plugin’s settings as well but I guess you’re already aware of them :slight_smile:

Finally, topic voting must be enabled per category, so I’d enable them during the category creations in the import script.