Installation without subdomain not working

Hi there, I’m trying to install Discourse on a testbed fresh Ubuntu 20.04 VM (also tried CentOS Stream 9 and Ubuntu 22.04 and openSUSE MicroOS). I have some experience with Discourse since the early days of the project, and I’m now evaluating it for a migration. In that case it would be to mydomain.tld (the production domain is only a forum and has “forum” in its name and it’s well known as such, so I definitely don’t want discourse.mydomain.tld ). All of my recent attempts at installing Discourse without a subdomain have failed. I know it used to be possible because I ran a Discourse forum like that about 6(?) years ago without a subdomain. Now the installation appears to complete successfully, but the site won’t load. In Ubuntu it automatically switches to https:// even when I explicitly put http://, and it won’t load at all. And in CentOS and MicroOS it loads the http:// Nginx welcome page, and nothing loads with https:// .

All of my attempts on the above operating systems in the same VM work fine when Discourse is installed to a subdomain at discourse.mydomain.tld , including the Let’s Encrypt autoconfig. As far as I can tell my DNS records are correct on the domain registrar and I have proper rDNS resolution. The server’s host name in /etc/hosts shows 127.0.1.1 mydomain.tld mydomain and the discourse-install script succeeds with the domain name resolution check.

Here’s the discourse-doctor output, I also have the full discourse-install log if anybody wants it:

DISCOURSE DOCTOR Sun Oct 9 13:32:47 UTC 2022
OS: Linux mydomain 5.4.0-125-generic #141-Ubuntu SMP Wed Aug 10 13:42:03 UTC 2022 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Found containers/app.yml

==================== YML SETTINGS ====================
DISCOURSE_HOSTNAME=mydomain.tld
SMTP_ADDRESS=mail.mydomain.tld
DEVELOPER_EMAILS=REDACTED 
SMTP_PASSWORD=REDACTED 
SMTP_PORT=587
SMTP_USER_NAME=admin@mydomain.tld
LETSENCRYPT_ACCOUNT_EMAIL=REDACTED