Liking own posts — a specific use case of discourse

Update: Please let me explain what I’d like to have one more time, I probably messed up my explanation. My post has been edited, and the new title doesn’t reflect the workflow I’m trying to build. I’m sorry, I changed it back. I understand all your suggestions, and they all would work if I were a teacher, maybe. But I’m a student.

We’re using discourse for posting math problems, and it works wonderfully. I deployed it with the solved plugin, added a button that shows unsolved ones sorted by number of likes. The idea is to let us, students, to like problems even if they are our own topics. So this number can be a single metric the teacher can look at by clicking the unsolved button.

When I post a problem, I, as a student, sometimes can see the ways I can make steps to solve a problem, and I just add it to discourse, but sometimes I can’t, and liking my own topic would increase this single metric, and the teacher would see this, and give us hints.

This is the wokflow I’m trying to build. What I’m doing so far is posting problems from another account, but this only works for me, I can’t ask other participants to have a separate login for this.

I’ve seen plugin writers here. How hard would it be to make one that lets us like our own posts? I’m not asking to do this for me, I’d just like to know how much effort it would take, because I’m going to support that discourse for a long time, and if it’s not hard, in the long run it’s worth writing.

The original text: Is there a way to configure discourse so I can like my own topics? We use it for posting math problems and I’d like to be able to emphasize the most interesting ones.

I should add that we have an unsolved button, that our teacher uses to see the most liked unsolved problems.

3 Likes

You could pin them, add staff color or rely on the interesting ones actually being interesting, then the math will add up, with views and reply’s :grin: