Looking for a new home on Discourse

I am a community-builder, and a refugee from the Nanowrimo meltdown, looking for a home for a small group of writers – about 35 – who are trying to stay together and keep writing. We like Discourse, and from my recent experiments in your demo area, we’d be happy with a nearly purely vanilla implementation.

I would be the primary admin, and do any tech work needed (I’m a retired software engineer, lots of languages from 6800 assembler through C to Perl, primarily software test development and automation of web testing)

So far, I see only two modifications I would want, which were mentioned elsewhere here as being standard plugins requiring no coding: (1) hidden categories except if user is logged in, and (2) admin approval of new sign ups.

There is a basket of bad actors roaming the Nano forum, fanning the flames, and none of us want them to follow us.

We have no interest in monetization, and I’m hoping your free Creative - Other forum creation option would be available to us, the $50 month Basic is too steep, only two of us are actual professional writers and both of them are on a shoestring as it is. The rest are pure amateurs, like me, even if I have got some 800K of text in a massive collection of badly organized and overlapping files. It’s fun getting to just play.

I’d be using a terms and conditions modeled on Permies and Cloudy Nights, keeping it pretty simple as long as we are small. If the group grows, I’ll extend it.

If it’s not too hard, I would like to put a checkbox on the sign up, “I promise to be nice” which is about the most core reason (other than writing) our group has coalesced into its current form, hiding out in a couple of the peripheral local regions currently somewhat shielded from the firestorm

We just love writing together, and we know Discourse.

10 Likes