Making 'illegal' content reportable to non-logged in users

I can’t see the report button when I am not logged in? Flagging a post as illegal should be possible for everyone who can view the post, not just registered users, right? At least I am not sure if you can require somebody to make an account and accept your terms of service before they can report illegal posts to you. I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice.

6 Likes

That is correct. You must be a registered user in order to use the flagging system. If not, it would be ripe for abuse.

6 Likes

Facebook has a prompt that literally says “Reporting content that you believe is illegal in your country is possible even if you are not logged in.”

Screenshot German:

yields this form:

Could that be inspiration for Discourse?

2 Likes

I’m not sure. I can see the value in that and we want to do as much as we can to support sites who want to be compliant, but I also am not sure we want to open ourselves up to supporting a form that can be submitted by people who have not been vetted by site owners. Those kinds of forms are notorious spam magnets and hard to control.

Can you share some more screenshots from Facebook in Germany, showing what happens on the next pages? Do users submitting the form need to provide an email address at some point?

Personally my inclination is to leverage the site contact email address which is on the about page on all sites. There is also the privacy notice and terms of service which provide an opportunity to reach out to the organization running the site. Perhaps we could help sites that need to make that email address and links to those pages more prominent in the UI, like on the login modal or in a footer.

9 Likes

Here is something a non logged in user can do.

Copy link of post. Visit Site about page.

Sent email to “Contact Us”

Pro over FB? Human contact.

4 Likes