More & granular privacy for user profiles and fields

It could be helpful to enable end-users of forums to have some say over what information is displayed on their profiles on a granular level, and to set their profile to not be indexable.

Please note I am new to Discourse/Ruby/Ember and I haven’t got much technical knowledge yet in how things work ‘under the bonnet’ so I hope this makes sense and is clear enough to explain my thoughts!

Some use cases of this are, for example, if I have a forum with a certification level custom field which is mandatory and which is set to display by global config, but some users may prefer this to be:

• Private to staff only
  • Visible to logged in users only
  • Visible to certain trust levels only
  • Public (no change from global config)

Another example might be for health-related fields where members choose to share that information only with trusted members of the community at a certain trust level or higher, or just with the staff of the forum, and do not want their profiles to be indexed.

I would envisage this could be applied to any/all fields by having the following:

• System setting to allow users to determine visibility of field/s
  • Field setting to prevent users overriding in the case where the admins wish to set the visibility and NOT allow overriding (or a global white-list of fields which the user can override if this is easier to manage)
  • Front-end profile edit field enabling the user to set the privacy level for the fields they can control in this way
  • Front-end themes check if the field has privacy set to show/not show when rendering profiles (could apply to cards as well?)

I think this is what was being requested in this post: Privacy settings on the user's profile page - it could also be complemented by a ‘set no-index’ flag which the user could edit if given permission to do so.

Feel free to comment if anything is unclear!

2 Likes