Multi-language forum (2 questions)

[Disclaimer: I’m not a developer]

Our situation:

• We are thinking about implementing a forum in German and English.
  • From reading other posts, I think it narrows down to having multiple categories in the 2 languages within one forum.
  • (We don’t like 2 separate forums, automatic translation/plugin, language detection, language tags, or language groups because of their various disadvantages.)
  • The general user interface can be in English (should be OK for most German-speaking users as well).

My 2 questions:

1. Regarding the categories in multiple languages, is there a “best practice” of using (1) the language as the top categories (i.e. “English” and “Deutsch” as the only 2 top categories with various sub-categories, respectively) vs. (2) having multiple categories in the 2 languages as top categories (i.e. top categories like “General Discussion [EN]” and “Allgemeine Diskussion [DE]”)?

2. Is there a list of good existing multi-language forums to look at as an example? Or do you know some good examples?

Thanks!

3 Likes

Take a look here https://community.wd.com/

I think this is one of the better structured multi-language forum to be taken as an example

3 Likes

To better understand where you are heading, it would be good to know a bit more about the nature of your forum or why you made the decisions you describe as your situation. If, for example, the reason for combining two languages in one forum is mere convenience and you don’t expect or intend to facilitate interaction between the two language communities, then a good setup is going to look different than if your aim is to overcome language barriers and (ideally) foster a single community.