Muted topic is completely hidden

Hi, I’m experiencing what I think is a bug on my private forum but maybe somebody can tell me if I’m just misunderstanding something.

There is a topic which I marked as muted so I would no longer get its notifications, but doing so completely hides this topic and the only way I have found to access it is with a direct link.

I am not able to see the topic via:

• The landing page (categories) right-hand Latest column.
  • The dedicated Latest page.
  • The category index that this topic is a child of.

A little bit about my setup:

• I am an admin on this forum.
  • The category can only be accessed by a specific user group.
  • I am not a member of this user group.

Where am I supposed to be able to find this topic listed? Personally I would find it reasonable for a muted topic to appear in all 3 of the lists mentioned above, but the category index especially.

1 Like

As you can see in the Muted description “You will never be notified of anything about this topic and it will not appear in the Latest

So it’s not a bug but the desired behavior. Why don’t you simply mark that topic as Normal? You will be notified only if someone mention your name or reply directly to you.

5 Likes

Hi, thanks for the explanation. I didn’t previously understand the meaning of Normal, I used to think it meant set the topic’s notification settings to normal for me, which would be email me about everything. I had that backwards but I think I get it now so in future I will know how to handle it.

Hypothetically speaking… how would I even get into this post to change it from Muted to Tracking? Such as if I muted it accidentally, just changed my mind, or had misunderstandings about how the tracking system worked (:blush:).