Need RSS feeds for the Top rated topics

Hi, I’m running a WordPress site http://mini4wd.org. Currently I’m using the latest.rss feed to generate a short list for what’s happening in the forum on our WordPress based homepage.

It would also be nice to to have RSS feeds for the Top rated topics, so our user can know what’s hot in the forum.

Currently following links returns nothing:

https://meta.discourse.org/top.rss

I’m new to discourse so if there’s other way to achieve this, please also let me know.

Many Thanks

@zogstrip we should make this work, all the “main” top level nav should have equivalent rss.

4 Likes

Thanks and I’ll keep tracking and give it a try once it’s done.

This would be immensely useful. I would basically be able to create widgets and pull latest posts in each category to be displayed on my site.

1 Like

These?

Latest New Unread Starred Categories Top

1 Like

Any word on this? I would love to have RSS for Top topics as well.

I’d love to have a crack at this if you haven’t started yet @zogstrip :smile:

UPDATE: Ah, right. There are RSS feeds for latest topics and topics within a category, but the rss format doesn’t quite lend itself to top topics because the order of the feed can change over time (i.e. posts can swell or drop in popularity, which won’t be reflected in the feed short of them being published twice.)

One possible solution could be to publish a periodic [weekly? daily? Controllable by site setting?] rss feed of top topics, which would be an aggregate of the most popular topics for that day/week. I’d be happy to work on something like this, but would probably need a little support spec’ing it out a little.

2 Likes

There are already pages for
....../top/daily
....../top/weekly
....../top/monthly
....../top/yearly

True the order is likely to change, shorter time periods more so than the longer, but as best as I can tell by the RSS feeds I’ve looked at so far they have always been “current”.