Notifications via Facebook

Well, actually I have some possibly good news :wink: As I’m kind of obsessed with the idea of delivering notifications to my community users via their Facebook (through Messenger and/or notifications), I’m in the middle of deconstructing those nightmarish API procedures.
Unfortunately, I’m not a Ruby developer, so I won’t be able to create any plugin myself. I can only provide ‘bare’ algorythm or pseudocode, but to reforge it into a functional Discourse plugin (or plugins perhaps?) I would need help of a qualified programmer.

Why do I believe we need this as a community?

1. We have use cases (I believe) of moving communities from fb groups into :discourse: , and enabling a mechanism to recieve :discourse: notifications on a channel that they are used to would smoothen this transitions a lot.
  2. Facebook is a threat to other online communities as it tends to ‘suck out’ any online activity. People are active on FB virtually 24/7 and because of that the’re not very eager to move to any external services when they feel that all their needs - in this case communication needs - are already well served there. Providing them with :discourse: notifications in spaces where they are already present, could be a way to fight that tendency, since the user would receive ‘pings’ from their :discourse: based community in exactly the same way as the rest of their daily communication.

Regarding issues mentioned above

It is doable. I’m positive for this very moment, after digging into Messenger API that we can move to sending notifications with little bit of algorithms and some smart code.

Well, this is actually a real problem. You could say that :discourse: notifier app can be counted into any of the allowed category, and I highly doubt that it would contain

advertising, marketing, solicitations, or promotional conten