On email address change second confirm fails due to email customization

Hi there - I searched for an answer to this issue but failed to find anything. I am an Admin on our forum and usually sign-in via Google auth. I wanted to change my email address and started that from my preferences page. The first confirm email arrived at my current email address and I confirmed - ok ok so far and it said a confirm email will be sent to the new address. The second confirm email arrives at the new address but when I click on that confirm link I get this in the browser:

Oops! That page doesnā€™t exist or is private.

The process results in my old email address still being active in my account.

2 Likes

I may be having a similar experience. I am an Admin on our forum. I changed my email address, received the verification email - okay so far. Upon going back to my forum - I get logged in automatically - I checked my settings. Forum emails are set to my new address, howeverā€¦ login email is the same as originally registered. I did some checking and found out I have to login in to my Admin account with the same address used when first registered. If I completely log out and try to log back in with my ā€œnewā€ email address, I get the same error message as you.

Check you preferences to see if your email address to receive forum emails is set to your new address. It probably is. But I bet the address for logging in is still set to the one you used when you first set up your Admin account.

Maybe @dax or another team member can explain if this how it is supposed to be or if the Admin login email has to be reset another way.

Can we repro this Monday @tshenry? It would be admin specific.

2 Likes

I tested out the admin email change process on the latest tests-passed version of Discourse. I had Google auth set up in addition to normal login credentials. I tested using two different browsers (Safari and Chrome) and all seems to be working the way I would expect it to.