Port 80/443 not accessible while installing Discourse

UPDATE: nmap and nc show that ports 80 and 443 are closed. Is that a problem for Discourse setup? I thought that just means that the port are open but there is no service listening on them. I expected Discourse setup to… you know… set up what’s required on those ports. I already have firewall rules to allow traffic on those ports so I don’t know how else to open them. Do I need services listening on those ports already in order to run the discourse setup (and how do I do that)?

< Original Post >

Hi, I’m new to Discourse, trying to run discourse-setup and I get the dreaded “Port 443 of computer does not appear to be accessible” and the “Connection to port 80 also fails” messages.

I know this is common and I’ve read many posts on this topic but none of the suggestions has worked. I have it in /var/discourse, I have curl installed, my DNS is set up, my firewall isn’t blocking, I’m not using Cloudflare etc.

I’m running Ubuntu 22.04 on an IPv6 VPS (no IPv4 address, but I’ve read that’s fine). The VPS has another nginx installed for future use but I have shut it down (along with all non-Discourse services) with auto-start disabled and restarted the server. My goal is to get Discourse running by itself on this server.

I can ping my VPS using my full subdomain (i.e. discourse.myvps.com) from both the VPS itself and my home machine, and my email provider verified my DNS settings for the email service. I’ve also added ufw rules to explicitly open ports 80 and 443 for both IPv4 and v6 traffic, and the rules show up properly with “ufw status”. My hosting company said they don’t block anything. And I don’t think I have to specify anything additional to reach the Discourse Docker container.