Renaming tags in the rails console

Continuing the discussion from Can’t fix tag names with dots/periods:

Hello,

Can anyone provide a tested guide on how to rename tags in the rails console? I have no experience using the rails console and don’t want to mess up the database…

2 Likes

SSH into your server

cd /var/discourse
./launcher enter app
rails c

t = Tag.find_by_name('oldname')
t.name = 'newname'
t.save
9 Likes

Is there also a way to change a specific tag in all topics? I renamed my domain once, there was a method to rewrite all references to the old domain do the new one. Can this also be done with tags? I want to rename a tag, but not confuse users with non-existing tags.

Edit, solved it with tag synonyms :tada: Although it’s far from ideal, since it will continue the use of old tags and it’s shown in my tags overview and auto-complete. I would really want to replace it fully and obsolete the old one.

2 Likes

Honest question - how is renaming the tag not sufficient for this?

1 Like

Well for example when I use the tag chat here and may others as well in different topics, and then you rename it to #chats. Then the #chat tag will be pointing to an non-existing tag because it’s not renamed. So the renaming works fine for topic titles, but not for within the topic comments when people used them already. Or am I missing something?

Extra thanks @RGJ , worked like a breeze :pray: :pray: :pray:

1 Like

I guess there is no way to rename existing tags used in topics by users? So not the tags in topic titles, but really in the comments.

Use at your own risk!

Do this after you have renamed #foo to #bar

Post.where("raw like '%#foo%'").each do |p|
  p.raw = p.raw.gsub(/#foo\b/, '#bar')
  p.save!
end
1 Like

Looks cool! Thanks for the heads-up. Backups will mitigate the risk :nerd_face:.