Smart Punctuation without IP Symbols

Might it be possible to tweak the current configuration settings around Markdown typographer (also known as “smart punctuation”) to enable Unicode punctuation marks, like quotation marks and dashes, but disable (c), ™, and potentially other specialized glyphs of the kind?

I’m a lawyer. I advise on trademarks and copyrights all the time, including on Discourse forums. I have yet to advise anyone to revise a post to add a copyright or trademark symbol, and non-lawyers tend to massively overestimate how often they’re useful or necessary. On the flip side, I’ve edited more posts than I can count to try and trick the Markdown rendered into not rendering the © symbol.

This comes up especially often in enumerated lists. For example:

(a) apple
(b) banana
(c) copyright?
(d) date

This enumeration style is very common in laws, contracts, policies, and other formal writing influenced by legal style. It’s also a very common outline style. It was part of the “standard” outline style I was taught as a grade school student in the United States.

I see the current settings offer some flexibility around the punctuation, but not, as far as I can tell, any way to enable smart punctuation without enabling smart symbols.

9 Likes

I don’t have strong feelings around this one, I feel like “needing” to type the copyright symbol is so rare that this shortcut can be pulled … the balance of extremely rare usefulness versus the fairly common (but unsightly) list (a) (b) (c) format … I’m fine with removing this particular shortcut entirely @sam.

6 Likes

I’d also support just plain removing (c).

It’s not like it’s hard to search “copyright symbol”, copy, and paste. Nerds can type ©.

From a usability point of view, I’d have a list at all the expansions. I strongly suspect they’re more surprising than helpful.

5 Likes

Right, for this one, the benefit (teeeeeny tiiiny) appears to outweigh the risk (a fair bit!).

5 Likes