Some notes on customizing the default Terms of Service

The Terms of Service on your Discourse installation is something you probably haven’t looked very closely at. It’s highly unlikely they’ll matter, but there is a chance, however small.

I did an initial review of the standard Discourse Terms of Service for my own purposes recently and I have a few notes you may find useful. This is not legal advice however and if you are concerned about your Terms of Service, you should seek legal advice.

I have focused on what I consider to be the most important changes to this specific document. Keep in mind that there may be important aspects of a ToS in whatever jurisdiction(s) apply to your forum that are not contemplated by these ToS at all (for example, your jurisdiction’s equivalent of SOPPA and DCMA). Remember, this is not legal advice, as I am not a practicing lawyer in your jurisdiction and my comments are not specifically about your Discourse instance.

Most of my notes are relevant to people running their own Discourse installations, but there are some areas I think that Discourse itself should seriously consider changing, insofar as they are included by default in a standard Discourse installation, and probably shouldn’t be. I have indicated those notes with :point_right:.

Introduction

Concerning this sentence:

The following terms and conditions govern all use of the %{company_domain} website and all content, services and products available at or through the website, including, but not limited to, %{company_domain} Forum Software, %{company_domain} Support Forums and the %{company_domain} Hosting service (“Hosting”), (taken together, the Website).

I removed everything after (and including) “including, but not limited to”. My company is not providing forum software, support forums or a hosting service.