Updating topic count in categories after bulk delete & missing topics/posts

(Bryan Underwood) #1

Thanks @pfaffman for the bulk deletion snippet you wrote using the Rails find_each method. Great work.

After bulk back-end deletion, is there a way to update the topic count in categories? Right now, I have an empty topic list which is ready for fresh import but the topic count in my categories still shows a count of thousands.And when I re-import fresh, the number only grows.

I waited overnight since I am not sure if there is a cron job or background task in Discourse that updates the counts. (I’m new to Discourse)

I feel like there is a command to refresh_topic_count or something…

(Felix Freiberger) #2

I had a similar problem.

The following code (to be run within rails console) may solve your problem, make it worse, or set your hair on fire :fire:. Use at your own risk (and with a backup).

Category.all.each { |c|
    c.topic_count = c.topics.length - 1 # -1 for about post
    c.save!
}

Alternatively, rake import:ensure_consistency from here might help, but it seems to have destructive side effects.

(Bryan Underwood) #3

Awesome, thanks @fefrei . Since I am new to Discourse and apparently did not completely read the docs I was not even aware that Sidekiq existed! :heart_eyes: Totally awesome. The solution was to simply trigger the Jobs::CategoryStats. No fire needed :fire_engine:.

[comment redacted (figured it out)]

(Bryan Underwood) #4

Now, I have a new problem which I don’t know how to feel about…

After import, I expected to have 2158 topics (or thereabout):