Watched words triggered when editing old posts

Hi,

I’m not sure if what I am experiencing is intended behaviour or not, so I thought I would ask.

I have today added some words to watch for, profanity etc.

I have tread gently initially and just set Discourse to Flag the posts as inappropriate rather than take any action. This evening one post triggered this and I took a look - working really nicely.

I then searched the entire forum for some various words and found some posts which contained them. I edited the posts, replacing the word with asterisks. Having done this on about 4 posts I noticed that I now had four new flags!

It would seem that the version history of the post, which still contains the original word, is triggering a flag to be raised. When you view it you of course only see the most recent version and thus it isn’t clear as to why the post is deemed inappropriate.

Even as an Admin I am unable to edit previous versions of a post (as far as I know), so I don’t think there is a manual way to avoid this issue.

Any thoughts from those of you that work on / know the system much better than I?

3 Likes

I wouldn’t describe it that way – your edit of the old post with the “bad” word is triggering a run of the watched words check. I doubt @neil tested this scenario.

I’ve edited the title to more accurately reflect what is going on and changed to bug since this is definitely a bug IMO.

5 Likes

Hi Jeff,

Thanks for the feedback and clarity.

Sorry I often only bring problems and not solutions! :slight_smile:

I can’t reproduce this. Here’s what I tried:

• As an admin user
  • find a post by a non-staff user
  • add a word in the post to the “Flag” list in Watched Words
  • edit the post to replace the word to “******”

Expect to see a new flag, but I don’t.

@RobMeade How can I reproduce?

1 Like

Hi @neil,