Welcome to nginx! after fresh installation

Hi,

I am new to Discouse and got stuck during the installation. I built an Ubuntu Server 18.04 virtual machine, then roughly followed the installation instructions.

When I say roughly, I mean rather than the cloud server, I am using the Ubuntu Server. I did not install Docker, but rather let discourse-setup install it for me. Also, I don’t have a mail server setup yet, though provided reasonable answers to the setup process. Not sure if this is the show stopper here. DNS is all in place and the server has a statically assigned IP address.

After the bootstrapping, when I browse to the server’s FQDN, I get the “Welcome to nginx!” page, rather than the “Congratulations, you installed Discourse!” page.

This installation is for a lab-environment and will not be publicly accessible.

Marc.

Is nginx installed on the server? It shouldn’t be. But discourse-setup should have detected that. Are you sure that your DNS is correct?

Nginx is not installed on the server. As far as DNS is concerned, I have an A record and PTR record for the server. What other requirements are there?

Marc.

The only way to see that page is if you’ve directed DNS to the wrong server, or NGINX is outside the container, occupying port 80 and preventing the container from responding.

2 Likes

If I point my web browser directly at the server’s IP address, I also get the Nginx welcome page.

When SSHed to the Ubuntu server:
marc@community:~$ locate nginx
/var/discourse/image/base/install-nginx
marc@community:~$

In addition, while on the Ubuntu server:
sudo find / -iname "*nginx*"
…lots of files under /var/lib/docker/overlay2
/var/discourse/image/base/install-nginx
/var/discourse/shared/standalone/letsencrypt/deploy/nginx.sh
/var/discourse/shared/standalone/log/var-log/nginx

Show us the result of:

lsof -i:80

The command lsof -i:80 does not give any output.

Then nothing is listening on port 80?