What is the best way to install Discourse Forum on a Proxmox VM and expose it on the internet

Hi I’m new with all this serve stuff

Pls help me
get Discourse up and running in a Proxmox VM or CL
or is there any ready configured image somewhere to import?

Many thanks.

1 Like

@pfaffman may have a paid installation procedure for this he can run. It’s worth every cent.

2 Likes

Thanks, Alex!

The first thing would be to look at Discourse official Standard Installation, but looking at what Proxmox is, I think the answer is “ask them.” If you search, though, you can find Trying to install Discourse in an Ubuntu VM on Proxmox

3 Likes

I’m not sure what you think is special about it being on a Proxmox VM. Install Ubuntu 18 in a VM. Expose ports 80 and 443 to the Internet. Follow the Discourse docs linked above. What part of this do you need help with?

2 Likes

I’m totally new with this server stuff but learning.
Like now: -> There is no difference which hypervisor I use.THX

In the guide is
You must have SSH access ( i have with local IP & putty) to
a 64-bit Linux server with Docker support.
(Meaning Docker must not be installed before starting installation??

Should be a VM or is also CT possible?
What do you recommend?

Which Linux would you recommend?

I think the rest is clear in the guide but let’s see.

It can be installed or not. If it isn’t installed, the installation script will install it.

I’m not sure Docker will work properly in a CT–you’d be putting a container inside a container, which might cause problems. Go for a VM.

The guide says:

The default of the current supported LTS release of Ubuntu Server works fine