WooCommerce Discourse Website newbie help

Hello! I’m very new to this. I want to create a forum for a hyper-local community with elements of e-commerce by integrating some classifieds style features. I’ve decided that WooCommerce would be the best platform for getting the job done.

Once I install the Discourse WP plugin, will I have Discourse running at full functionality since it’s opensource, or will I have to pay the $100/mo package on the website for this; that would seem odd since I’d be paying for hosting somewhere else with the WooCommerce setup? If it is in fact free and fully functioning at this point, how exactly do I go about managing it? Would it all be through the WooCommerce/Wordpress platform? With so many features, it’s hard for me to imagine how managing the forum would work through Wordpress.

Thank you!

There are no licensing fees, only hosting fees.

Unless you’re already really wedded to Discourse for a bunch of other reasons, I’d recommend that you check out Discourse Subscriptions. There is documentation here for getting WooCommerce to work, but nearly ever time I’ve accepted what seemed like a lot of money to get WooCommerce to do something for someone I’ve been sorry. The last time I punted and gave back their money.

1 Like

@pfaffman According to the TL;DR on the ‘Discourse Subscriptions’, this isnt exactly what I’m looking for. I want the forum to be free and open, I’d be monetizing in other ways with stuff like featured posts, and things of that nature.

So how exactly do I go about managing the forum once its installed on woocommerce? is it all through wordpress or do i create some sort of account with discourse as well?

Thank you!