-bash ...command not found. Email setup Bitnami

Can anyone help. Trying to setup email in digital ocean with putty but after copying & pasting this
smtp_address = “smtp.mandrillapp.com
smtp_port = 587
smtp_domain = your_domain.com
smtp_user_name = ‘your_email_registered_at_mandrill’
smtp_password = ‘any_mandrill_api_key_in_your_account’
smtp_enable_start_tls = true
authentication = login
enable_starttls_auto = true

with my info all I get is “-bash: … : command not found.”
At my wits end pls help

Is that the full error trace?

Sorry total noob here. Where do I find the error trace.

Are these commands intended for the putty/digi ocean interface or the discourse app itself?
Thanks

I’m trying to follow these directions as I type them directly into the digi ocean console…it should be pretty straight forward, but I just can’t seem to get anywhere with them. Is there a command line that should start this of i.e sudo…?

Directions: To configure SMTP settings using and external SMTP server, you have to add the lines indicated below to you installdir/apps/discourse/htdocs/config/discourse.conf, for instance, after the line:
The required lines to configure SMTP are the following:
smtp_address = “SMTP_HOSTNAME”
smtp_port = SMTP_PORT
smtp_domain = example.com
smtp_user_name = ‘SMTP_USER’
smtp_password = ‘SMTP_PASSWORD’

Ah I see what you’re doing. Are you pasting those lines directly into the command line?

Following this guide might help:

1 Like

Hi yes I am. I should state I sent through Bitnami so it seems your above directions are different.
Here’s what I’m copy pasting into the console line for line as the instructions say here https://wiki.bitnami.com/Applications/BitNami_Discourse

installdir/apps/discourse/htdocs/config/discourse.conf
smtp_address = "SMTP_HOSTNAME"
smtp_port = SMTP_PORT
smtp_domain = example.com
smtp_user_name = 'SMTP_USER’
smtp_password = 'SMTP_PASSWORD’