Bold and Italic in Chinese

I am really confused with this editor, perhaps this is because I am a chinese.
Here is my problems:

1. bold and italic work only when the character before is space or paragraph begin. For example:

This seems reasonable in English since that you should bold a word not only part of a word. But, in chinese, all the words are together: 我是中国人. So when I want to type chinese, most of the time, bold and italic don’t work.
  2. image in bullet list always in a new paragraph. This creates problem when I want to realize a inline image like this:

Plus what I found before, I do not think this is a good editor. I think it will confuse most user when I click bold and two ** is added. For people who do not know mark down, what is this **?

I am a developer, not a hard core one, I found this editor hard to use. I love discourse, it is more advanced than most of the BBS. But I just can not understand why we need a geeky editor.

Thanks for your work, any way.

https://meta.discourse.org/t/please-allow-option-for-editing-inline-using-a-rich-text-editor/849

For the bold and italic issue, I don’t have a chinese keyboard but I can boldify the first letter of a word like this, but I can’t boldify a middle letter like this, is this a bug?

1 Like

as I said: the bold works only when the character before is a space. so you could bold the first character of a word or paragraph, but not the middle of a word.

I think this is a bug, I have tested, it works with stackoverflow.

True, it works on SO:

Intra-word bold and italic are generally disabled, as they are unwanted in English. I can see this being needed in other languages where words have no spaces between them.

2 Likes

Can you test this on our new markdown parser?

https://markdown-it.github.io/

We plan to move to it later this year.

great, both bold and italic works well on the new markdown parser, including the problem with heading.

4 Likes