Discourse Cookie Consent Banner

:warning: At this time, it is highly unlikely that this theme component will be enough to comply with GDPR regulations. This is particularly the case if you are using services that introduce 3rd-party cookies. It is highly recommended that you talk to your lawyer and figure out your individual needs

This theme component will allow you to add a customizable Cookie Consent banner to your forum. It simply provides an easy way for Discourse admins to make use of the open source Cookie Consent banner by Insites.

Settings

There are several settings to help you personalize the banner to your Discourse forum.

Legal note:

I am not a lawyer. Please make sure this meets your individual legal needs at the time of installing. If there are ways to improve the usefulness of this component, please share!

Relevant reading:
List of cookies used by Discourse
Cookie compliance under GDPR

Install this theme component

58 Likes

Thank you, this makes things easier.

2 Likes

Just started using this on my forum and I gotta say it’s a super awesome and easy way to add this in! Ty for doing this :smiley:!

3 Likes

Apparently, it’s mandatory in the EU now that websites have an advanced cookie consent banner, i.e. with the options for the user to choose exactly which cookies are set. Shouldn’t this be part of Discourse core and support all the Discourse supported tools like Google Analytics etc. in order to make a standard installation in the EU legal from scratch?

7 Likes

Then why doesn’t Amazon.co.uk implement it?

1 Like

Good question. Maybe they wait for Brexit to happen? Then again, same goes for amazon.de. But it was a recent ruling of the highest European court:

And Reuters already has implemented it.

Edit: I don’t know whether this is true for other European countries, but there’s a flourishing cease and desist letter writing industry in Germany - that’s what makes the matter so unpleasant.

4 Likes

thank you for this work. Question: