Discourse on AlmaLinux

Greetings,

I realize that the supported version of Discourse requires a specific set up, however…

My curiosity and amount of work put in thus far compels me to ask for help here.

I installed docker on an AlmaLinux VPS and installed Discourse, had it running and set it up, invited users, all was hunky-dory. I’ve not added any plugins or made any major modification beyond the front-end interface changes.

And then I did a security update for Discourse that came through yesterday (or the day before).
It all went smoothly.

This is where the rookie mistake happened (I’m a rookie when it comes to this for sure). I decided to change my SSH port and forgot to open that port in the firewall. Well, after I fixed that I tried to restart Discourse and…

FAIL

Anyway, here are some of the errors (let me know if there is hope, or if I’m missing the obvious, or whatever. Be gentle :stuck_out_tongue: :

FAILED
--------------------
Pups::ExecError: cd /var/www/discourse && sudo -H -E -u discourse bash -c '
  set -o errexit
  if [ $(git rev-parse --is-shallow-repository) == "true" ]; then
      git remote set-branches --add origin main
      git remote set-branches origin tests-passed
      git fetch --depth 1 origin tests-passed
  else
      git fetch --tags --prune-tags --prune --force origin
  fi
' failed with return #<Process::Status: pid 135 exit 128>
Location of failure: /usr/local/lib/ruby/gems/3.3.0/gems/pups-1.2.1/lib/pups/exec_command.rb:132:in `spawn'
exec failed with the params 
{"cd"=>"$home", "hook"=>"code", "cmd"=>["sudo -H -E -u discourse git reset --hard", 
"sudo -H -E -u discourse git clean -f", "sudo -H -E -u discourse bash -c '\n  
set -o errexit\n  if [ $(git rev-parse --is-shallow-repository) == \"true\" ]; then\n      
git remote set-branches --add origin main\n      
git remote set-branches origin $version\n      
git fetch --depth 1 origin $version\n  else\n      
git fetch --tags --prune-tags --prune --force origin\n  fi\n'",